Females Stand Up

So today is International Women’s Day and I find myself thinking back to this movie titled Iron Jawed Angels. It was about women’s suffrage. It was the story of how we struggled against the tides of society to acheive our rights. To this day there is still some discrimination. To say there isn’t would be ignorant of me. Women still make less then men in the same positions. There has still never besn a female president. The power balance still isn’t equal. So on days like today it’s important to take a step back and see how far we have come. Women are strong. We are working and holding very powerful positions. Hell I’m an unwed female living with a male and attending graduate school to obtain my masters degree! Not long ago, women weren’t allowed to attend school. They wers menat to be home and in the kitchen and making babies. That was our only purpose. But now…. Now just look! It’s amazing! But it’s not over. There is still a battle to equalize the field for every single person. No matter their race or gender or sexuality. We should all be treated equally and based on our work production and the quality with which we are able to produce production. That day is still in the distance but it’s there. That’s the important part. It’s possible. There will be challeneges! There will be people who disagree. You have to beleive in the future for it to become reality.

“A girl should be two things: WHO and WHAT she wants.” -Coco Chanel. 

Empower those around you!

Author: Kenzie

I am a 24 year old Marriage and Family Therapy graduate student at Fairfield University. I graduated salutatorian of my undergraduate class with a Bachelors Degree in Psychology from Mitchell College. I will graduate from Fairfield with my Masters degree in December of 2017. Check me & my cat out on instagram: My Account: @Kenzie_quotes_22 Cats' Account: @Ajaxcheetto Thanks for Visiting!!! 🙋❤😺😸 Check me out on Deviant Art: http://kenzie-22.deviantart.com

Leave a Reply

