Transforming Trauma

I had a moment yesterday where things just came together for me. I looked back on my trauma and I didn’t feel the anger for the first time in my life. For a moment I thought I was thankful. If it wasn’t for what happen to me I would have never developed the empathy for other that I have or my capacity to care. I can understand what it’s like to go through what could be concidered the darkest moments of some people’s lives. For the first time in my life I was thankful… It may not make much sense, but if it wasn’t for what happen to me I wouldn’t have had my eyes opened to the word. I wouldn’t have been able to seperate myself from my family. I would have the compassion I do. If it wasn’t for what happen to me, I wouldn’t be the person I am today! I look at my family and I’m horrified at thwir actions and lack of introspection on the effect they have on their own lives! They are selfish and cruel… But I’m kind almost to a fault… I’m critical of myself too much… I may have taken the opposite view and to the extreeme almost… I’m proud of who I am. I love who I am. I might not treat myself like I do all thr time but I really  am. It has taken me 24 years to admit that to myself. I’m a good person and I’m worth respect! I love myself and every memory and past event, both good and bad, made me who I am. Im grateful for that. 

Author: Kenzie

I am a 24 year old Marriage and Family Therapy graduate student at Fairfield University. I graduated salutatorian of my undergraduate class with a Bachelors Degree in Psychology from Mitchell College. I will graduate from Fairfield with my Masters degree in December of 2017. Check me & my cat out on instagram: My Account: @Kenzie_quotes_22 Cats' Account: @Ajaxcheetto Thanks for Visiting!!! πŸ™‹β€πŸ˜ΊπŸ˜Έ Check me out on Deviant Art: http://kenzie-22.deviantart.com

1 thought on “Transforming Trauma”

  1. Isn’t that a wonderful feeling? An epiphany! It’s a difficult process and a huge success to be able to look back at trauma and be able to recognize how it has contributed in a positive way in our lives. I agree, that it makes us more sensitive and empathetic towards others, that is a gift ❀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

