How My Cats Save Me Everyday

Before I got my 2 fur babies I used to sit in the house all by myself for hours. Having OCD, these hours were usually spent fretting and criticizing myself. A year into living with my boyfriend I was cracking. I couldn’t take the silence. I was doing whatever I could during the day to get away from my house. The house I was supposed to love and feel at home in was just triggering an enormous amount of anxiety. That’s when my boyfriend agreed to let me get a kitten. I thought having an animal in the house would be nice. At least it would be a nice distraction from the daily introspection I put myself through. We ended up with brothers. There’s a post of mine, How I Became a Crazy Cat Lady that talks all about the process of getting my 2 angels. 

Ajax was an energetic little kitten without a fear in the world. He wanted to walk right out of his room and explore the whole house right away. Cheetto was shy and he didn’t like to come close to me at first. After about a week of bonding with them I was ready to let them into the rest of the house. Cheetto was nervous but Ajax was always checking in to assure him. It has been two years now and I’m still just as in love with my cats as ever. The best part is, they helped me so much more then I can explain. Whenever I get sad Ajax comes to comfort me. 

He’s pushy and demanding and I love it. Sometimes when I’m really stressing myself out he comes onto my lap and demands to be pet. It makes me stop for a few moments and it slows things down for me. I’m able to take a breath, pet the cat, and bring my anxiety down. Cheetto became my baby. For a shy cat that didn’t fancy humans, you would never know now. He demands to be picked up and he loves to ride around on my shoulders. 

He loves to just lay with me while I write and sometimes even attacks my keyboard.
My point is, my cats remind me to be in the present. I’m always reliving the past and worrying for the future but with them around, I’m reminded to enjoy the here and now. They’re my life savers. Even now as I look at them sleeping in their favorite spots, I’m reminded that I’m not alone anymore. I’m reminded that I have 2 little innocent souls depending on me to be their mom. They need me and I need them. It’s a codependent relationship I’m perfectly ok with! We even post our daily adventures on Instagram, facebook, and twitter @Ajaxcheetto

I love to be able to share my cats with others. If I can reach out to that one person that needs a smile today, then I’m doing my job. I know not everyone is a cat person and I’m not trying to convert you or anything. I’m just a very lucky crazy cat lady with a lot of love and 2 perfect little fur balls.  

Author: Kenzie

I am a 24 year old Marriage and Family Therapy graduate student at Fairfield University. I graduated salutatorian of my undergraduate class with a Bachelors Degree in Psychology from Mitchell College. I will graduate from Fairfield with my Masters degree in December of 2017. Check me & my cat out on instagram: My Account: @Kenzie_quotes_22 Cats' Account: @Ajaxcheetto Thanks for Visiting!!! 🙋❤😺😸 Check me out on Deviant Art: http://kenzie-22.deviantart.com

Leave a Reply

