But She’s My Best Friend

I’m sitting here dreading going out tonight. I’m seeing my friend who we will call Alice. Alice and I have been friends since we were 8 years old. I am 24 and she is 25 now. So we have been through a lot together. I wish I could say it has brought us closer, but recently I keep thinking of how far apart we have gotten. Alice never grew up. She’s still this spastic and crazy (cartoon obsessed) girl who dyes her hair multicolored and doesn’t eat. She has been anorexic for as long as I can remember. I love her and I have such nostalgia towards her. We have history and special memories together… But she just hasn’t grown up. We have little in common anymore besided what I pretend to be into. For example I was a big anime freak and she still is. I have nothing against anime but I’m just not into it anymore. Then there is all the drama she always has going on. She asks for advice but never follows it. She hates her job and is constantly complaining about how bitchy her boss is. Alice also have a large amount of enemies. She leaves a wake of destruction behind her. She’s been in multiple accidents and she drives like a crazy person. She speeds and stops short but mostly she’s aggressivly screaming the whole time. She has no references because she always leaves on bad terms. She just rubs people the wrong way. But we were kids together… Now I’m an adult and she’s just not adjusting. She lies about things I can’t accept from her. She makes serious  accusations that are wholeheartedly untrue. But she beleives they are! Now I’m going to go to dinner and try to actually have an intelligent conversation that doesn’t revolve around magic, spirit animals, wicca, or anime…. I will have no luck with that. I’m so conflicted about the whole thing. She’s supposed to be my best friend until the end, but seeing her is a chore! I’m supposed to look forward to our time together… Aren’t I? I just feel so torn between the best friend I grew up with and the adult (or lack of acting like an adult) she has become. We just have nothing in common anymore. How can she be my best friend if we can’t even enjoy our time together? I don’t have the answers and I realize I’m ranting so I’ll stop here. Time to get my hat and subject myself to another night of being embarrassed by my best friend Alice in public…

Author: Kenzie

I am a 24 year old Marriage and Family Therapy graduate student at Fairfield University. I graduated salutatorian of my undergraduate class with a Bachelors Degree in Psychology from Mitchell College. I will graduate from Fairfield with my Masters degree in December of 2017. Check me & my cat out on instagram: My Account: @Kenzie_quotes_22 Cats' Account: @Ajaxcheetto Thanks for Visiting!!! πŸ™‹β€πŸ˜ΊπŸ˜Έ Check me out on Deviant Art: http://kenzie-22.deviantart.com

Leave a Reply

