How I Became a Crazy Cat Lady

I’ve always owned a pet. When I lived with my parents they had dogs. The dogs were also considered mine but I never felt a kinship with them. After I graduated from my undergrad program, I moved in with my boyfriend. It was the first time I was without a pet. When I was alone at the house I felt a loneliness I had never experienced. I spent a year without an animal in my home and it was torture. My depression got worse and my anxiety was sky high. When we resigned our lease we asked our landlord if we could get a cat. He approved it and happily I starting looking for some special little fur ball to welcome into my home.
A friend found this link to a black and white cutie looking for a home on Craig’s list I contacted the owner and she arranged for me to pick up the kitten that Saturday. They were 8 weeks old. When we arrived at the house we were greeted by the owners pet pig. She took us to her daughter’s room and explained that the mama cat was a barn cat she inherited from the previous owner. When she found her pregnant, she took her in with the plan to assist in the birth and then spay the kitty mom when she was ready. Walking into the kitten’s room was just too fun. They were everywhere and they all seemed happy. I spotted a little orange cutie shyly hiding under a dresser. The woman told us she was worried about the little one. He co-worker was supposed to take him, but he was very skittish and scared. Originally, we had been looking for brothers to adopt, so we asked the women if we could take the little orange kitten with us. This way he would have a brother to comfort and teach him. The woman agreed and That’s how I got my two boys.

I wouldn’t have qualified myself as a crazy cat lady. I had cats growing up but they were outdoor kitties and they weren’t very friendly with us kids. These two are different. They are my babies to raise and take care of and love! The little orange kitten we named Cheetto. The black and white kitten was named Ajax.

Cheetto had an eye problem when he was a kitten. I had to clean his eyes twice a day and they would always get all gunky again. After two weeks, Cheetto was finally able to fully open his eyes fully and he hasn’t had a problem with his eyes since. When his eyes healed he also became a very affectionate boy. He has quite the attachment to my fiancé and I.
I started posting photos of my boys on my Instagram account. I quickly realized that there is a huge community of what I like to call “cat lovers.” My cats’ photos got more likes and comments than any one of my photos ever did. So I started their own account, just a cat account. If you want you can check us out @Ajaxcheetto on Instagram. Their account blew up and I became part of this amazingly kind community of cat lovers. I have met some great people through my boys’ account and I even exchanged Christmas cards with a bunch of friends I met on there. The account took off so well, I ended up deleting my Instagram account and just using the cat account. There are cat days and cat words! It’s this whole community with it’s own language. The best thing is that everyone I have met is a kind person. I haven’t seen one post that doesn’t make me smile or make me happy. There’s something special about cats.

My cats not only gave me company, they love me unconditionally. There’s nothing like coming home to meowing voices. They both have such personality too. They will be 2 years old this March. I’m thankful everyday for them. I’m a crazy cat lady and proud of it!

Author: Kenzie

I am a 24 year old Marriage and Family Therapy graduate student at Fairfield University. I graduated salutatorian of my undergraduate class with a Bachelors Degree in Psychology from Mitchell College. I will graduate from Fairfield with my Masters degree in December of 2017. Check me & my cat out on instagram: My Account: @Kenzie_quotes_22 Cats' Account: @Ajaxcheetto Thanks for Visiting!!! 🙋❤😺😸 Check me out on Deviant Art: http://kenzie-22.deviantart.com

Leave a Reply

