Life Without Family

Life without family is hard. Building social support withing your friend group can help compensate for the loss of social support.

Family… We’re taught that family are the ones you can always count on. They are the people who will always be there for you and love you no matter what. But they are also the people who can hurt you the deepest. When family is the cause of your pain, it’s hard to know what to do. Part of you wants acceptance and love but at what cost? When family becomes toxic to your life it’s like your heart is being torn in two. One half of me wants to hope. To hope that one day they will finally come around. Then I get realistic and I have to remind myself that I can’t change them. They are who they are. Having that hope can make me feel empty sometimes because there is no guarantee that I will ever have them back… Not the way I want them. They would have to change and I can’t control that. I have to let my control go and live without them. It’s hard to loss hope and accept the reality of a situation. It makes things sadder. Knowing that relationship will never be restored is a feeling of emptiness I can’t begin to explain. All I can do is build my family. I can only begin to put my faith and effort into the people who are actually there and supporting of me. I can only learn from their mistakes and short comings. I have  to apply my knowledge to better myself. To make a family that is actually there and loving of each other. It’s harder then it seems. 

Author: Kenzie

I am a 24 year old Marriage and Family Therapy graduate student at Fairfield University. I graduated salutatorian of my undergraduate class with a Bachelors Degree in Psychology from Mitchell College. I will graduate from Fairfield with my Masters degree in December of 2017. Check me & my cat out on instagram: My Account: @Kenzie_quotes_22 Cats' Account: @Ajaxcheetto Thanks for Visiting!!! πŸ™‹β€πŸ˜ΊπŸ˜Έ Check me out on Deviant Art: http://kenzie-22.deviantart.com

Leave a Reply

